With A Constant State of Ohio, Lincoln seems to be attempting to pick up the mantle that Modern Baseball seems to be hanging up. MoBo’s most recent tour cancellation letter sounded, to me, like an indefinite hiatus at best. However, I’d rather they continued to be happy and healthy than end up a tragic story, like they almost did (if you haven’t seen the short documentary about the conception and creation of Holy Ghost, check it out). Now, this is not a Modern Baseball review, but it feels remiss to not discuss them when discussing this album. A Constant State of Ohio feels like You’re Gonna Miss It All era MoBo, and it’s great.

This is the debut release from Cincinatti’s Lincoln, a band consisting of Lincoln Lutz, who plays all of the instruments and does the vocals for the album, and Brett Romnes, who played the drums and mastered and mixed the album.  The entire album was recorded and mixed in Hopatcong, New Jersey, not far from my hometown.

The lead single from the release, “Smokey Eyes” was about the stress of starting college; living in a new space, making new friends, et cetera. Lincoln said on Consequence of Sound that “I wrote Smokey Eyes when I first started college and was leaving behind a lot of people and things, there was a lot of general bitterness and anxiety going on which is I guess what I was trying to get through. The title isn’t meant to refer to a real person, more some unrealistic ideal of a person that I know would still leave me just as angry as I was before even if they were real.”

There are some cool effects and fun organic percussion dabbled across the album. As I said, it very strongly reminds me of You’re Gonna Miss it All. There is maybe a hint of The Front Bottoms a la their self titled or Talon of the Hawk in there as well.

 

Recommended Tracks: “Banks”, “Saint Bernard”, “Smokey Eyes”

RIYL: Modern Baseball; The Front Bottoms; Steady Hands; Slaughter Beach, Dog; BTFL

